Gingerbread Oatmeal

My carnivorous husband think that since I’m not eating very much dairy anymore, I’m not getting enough calcium.

I set out today to prove him wrong. I ate all the plant-based sources of calcium I could find in the house. I spent all day recording the amount of calcium in every food I put in my mouth.

Gingerbread Oatmeal - yummy healthy

Working really hard at it, I made it to somewhere between 60-70% of the daily recommended value of calcium. Hmm.

So I’ll probably start taking a calcium supplement. And eating lots more kale and broccoli and almonds.

I made this oatmeal specifically to provide a pretty decent amount of calcium – one serving provides about 12% of the daily recommended value. I could probably have made it even higher, but tomorrow is our shopping day which means today we’re running a little low on ingredients. To increase the calcium even more, top with calcium-fortified plant milk, some chopped dates and figs, and almonds.

Maybe throw in a few handfuls of kale too. For good measure.

Gingerbread Oatmeal - yummy healthy

Gingerbread Oatmeal
Serves 6
5 cups water
Dash salt
3 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup molasses
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger

Bring water and salt to a boil. Stir in remaining ingredients. Reduce heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, until thickened and oats have reached desired texture.

Serve with milk of choice, sweeten if desired.

Leave a Reply

