Spinach Avocado Hummus

I mentioned this hummus in my last post. I love the vibrant color, and the way this tastes like a perfect blend of hummus and guacamole.

Spinach Avocado Hummus - yummy healthy

My first experience with hummus was many years ago, when my husband and I were in the early years of our marriage. We attended an activity with several other young couples that was focused around a variety of breads and spreads. Some of my favorites were the bagels with fancy cream cheese spreads, and the pita bread with hummus.

Hummus has become one of my favorite foods to eat on this mostly plant-based, whole food diet we’re on. It’s full of protein and fiber, plus all the vitamins and minerals found in beans. Plus the flavor is amazing.

I used a recipe for avocado hummus, but added the spinach to increase the nutritional punch and the green color.

Spinach Avocado Hummus - yummy healthy

Spinach Avocado Hummus
Makes about 2 cups
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 ripe avocados
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 garlic cloves
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp paprika
2 large handfuls fresh spinach

Place all ingredients in food processor and puree until smooth. Place in a serving bowl. Serve with fresh vegetables, or any chips or crackers that meet your personal dietary preferences.

I served this with carrot sticks, thickly sliced cucumber, and corn chips that contained only corn, oil, and salt. Delicious!

011

Leave a Reply

