Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Bites

I’m feeling a bit down right now, going through some mourning over the loss of what used to be.

It’s kind of shallow, but I miss the reputation I used to have. Before switching to a healthier diet, I was known as someone who always made and brought super delicious, super indulgent foods to potlucks and other functions. When people found out what I had made, they would make it a point to get some before it was gone, because it was sure to be amazing. I would get compliments, sometimes for days afterward, about how delicious the food was. This was just something I was known for, and I reveled in it.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Bites - yummy healthy

And now it’s gone. People don’t react to my foods the same way anymore. Last night I attended a small Christmas party for the teenage girls in our church. I brought an incredible spinach avocado hummus with fresh vegetables, and chocolate peanut butter energy bites. I loved them. They turned out wonderful, and tasted great.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Bites - yummy healthy

But hummus and energy bites just can’t compare with pizza, cheesy sausage dip with chips, and cookies and brownies. Some girls took the avocado hummus thinking it was guacamole, then mentioned to each other that it tasted weird. Most of them didn’t even try the energy bites.

It hurt.

There was no raving over my dishes. No recipe requests. No “You have to try Stephanie’s food, it’s so good!” None of the stuff I’m used to hearing about my food.

I really am glad that I brought those things. Because it ensured that I would have something healthy there that I could eat and enjoy. Like I said, they tasted great, and it felt physically wonderful, while if I had eaten the pizza and cookies my body and I would have regretted it all night.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Bites - yummy healthy

But it made me sad to realize that I’m no longer considered to be the great cook that I was before.

Anyway, here’s the recipe for the energy bites. I loved them. When I brought home most of the pan uneaten, my kids loved them. They’re really good. No matter what a group of teenage girls think.

006

Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Bites
Makes 12-15 bites
1 cup pitted dates
3 tbsp peanut butter
1/4 cup chocolate chips
1 tbsp ground flax seeds
2/3 cup rolled oats

Pulse dates in food processor until they are in small pieces or form a ball. Add remaining ingredients and pulse until combined. If needed, drizzle in a little water to help the mixture hold together.

Press mixture into small, plastic wrap-lined pan. I doubled the recipe and used a 7×11 pan. Chill, then use plastic wrap to remove from pan so you can easily cut into bars. Alternately, you can roll the mixture into balls. Store covered in refrigerator.

One thought on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

