Chocolate Beet Cake

I had a pretty great birthday yesterday. The kids and I went to the store and looked at Christmas displays. We went to the park, where we collected pretty autumn leaves and were followed around by ducks and Canada geese hoping for a handout.

Chocolate Beet Cake - yummy healthy

After going home and having lunch, I fixed a kitchen drawer that has been broken for well over a year. And I baked my birthday cake. I also planned on a vegan frosting, but it didn’t set up properly so it didn’t really make it onto the cake.

One of my college roommates came over in the evening with her kids. We chatted and laughed about old times and our kids and all the weird things they do. The kids played downstairs and scattered toys all over the place. We started working on pine cone turkeys but couldn’t find hot glue sticks, so we couldn’t finish making them.

It was all good fun.

I sent my friend and her kids home with the supplies to finish their little turkeys, and my kids and I finished ours up this morning. They turned out super cute.

Chocolate Beet Cake - and pine cone turkeys - yummy healthy

As for the cake, I don’t have organic sugar or organic oil, which are called for in the original recipe, so I just used regular. You are welcome to use organic if you prefer. This is actually the most sugar I’ve added to something since switching to our healthier diet. It’s a birthday cake, so I had a good excuse for indulgence. The kids loved it and each had two pieces. I was satisfied after one piece.

Chocolate Beet Cake - yummy healthy

Chocolate Beet Cake
Makes 24 pieces
1 1/2 cups wheat flour
1 1/2 cups white flour
2 cups sugar
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup oil
1 cup beet puree (cut up and boil 3 large beets, then puree in food processor with a couple tablespoons of the cooking water)
1 1/2 cups water
2 tsp apple cider vinegar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9×13 pan.

In large bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and mix by hand.

Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 45-50 minutes, until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool completely, then store in the refrigerator.

Frost as desired, or eat unfrosted. It’s delicious either way!

Chocolate Beet Cake - yummy healthy

Leave a Reply

