Autumn Fruit and Oat Breakfast Bowls

I’m so excited for next week. The kids and I are taking the whole week off of school, and we’re going to make a bunch of autumn crafts to decorate the house. I wish I could do classy decorations, but with four kids who play with everything, I thought I might as well embrace the child-friendly nature of our home and go with kid-made decor.

Autumn Fruit and Oat Bowls - yummy healthy

We’ll be making a wreath for the front door out of leaves and sticks. Pine cone turkeys will be making an appearance, as will a felt leaf garland for the fireplace. A Thankful Tree made out of construction paper will grace the entrance to the living room, and we’ll probably hang some hand print turkeys on the fridge for good measure.

Someday, when the kids are grown, I might be able to decorate with cloches, fancy linens, and items that are as breakable as they are beautiful. But as I think about it, I’m not so sure that I’ll like it quite as much after all. Because the excitement that will shine in my children’s eyes as they show off the decorations that they helped to make will probably trump any pleasure I might get out of having classy decorations untouched by childhood.

Autumn Fruit and Oat Bowls - yummy healthy

Autumn Fruit and Oat Breakfast Bowls
Servings as needed
Uncooked oats
Apples, sliced or chopped
Dried cranberries
Pumpkin butter
Pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
Chopped walnuts
Cinnamon
Honey or maple syrup, if desired
Milk of choice

For each serving, place 1/3 to 1/2 cup oats in a bowl. Top with apples, cranberries, a dollop of pumpkin butter, and a small handful of pepitas and walnuts. Sprinkle lightly with cinnamon. Drizzle with honey if desired, then pour in enough milk to cover oats. Let set for about 5 minutes, then dig in.

Autumn Fruit and Oat Bowls - yummy healthy

Leave a Reply

