Chocolate Banana Baked Oatmeal

After my unwilling busy-ness yesterday, the living room is clean to the point of being practically unrecognizable. Today I get to work on the kitchen. While the kitchen is one of my favorite places to be, it’s not really my favorite place to clean.

Chocolate Banana Baked Oatmeal - yummy healthy

Naturally, having worked so hard yesterday, and with so much work ahead of me in the next few days, I needed a little pick-me-up. For me, that usually means something along the lines of chocolate.

Chocolate Banana Baked Oatmeal - yummy healthy

Chocolate has always held a special place in my heart. Being able to add it to my breakfast, and still call it relatively healthy, is just a bonus. My four kids and I downed an entire pan of this delicious baked oatmeal (adapted from this recipe) in one sitting.

028

Chocolate Banana Baked Oatmeal
Serves 6-8
4 large bananas
2 large eggs (or flax eggs)
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/3 cup honey or maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 cups milk of choice
2 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped walnut
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 9×13 baking dish.

In a large bowl, mash the bananas. Whisk in eggs, cocoa, honey, vanilla, salt, and baking powder until smooth. Add milk and whisk.

Stir in oats, chocolate chips, walnuts, and coconut.

Pour mixture into prepared baking dish. Bake in preheated oven for about 40 minutes.

Cut into 6-8 servings. Serve warm with milk, if desired.

Chocolate Banana Baked Oatmeal - yummy healthy

Leave a Reply

