Apple Cinnamon Energy Bites

I don’t particularly care for being busy. I’m the type of person who could sit curled up on the couch with a book or a movie and be contented to let the world pass me by. Not always an option for a homeschooling mama with a house to keep clean!

Apple Cinnamon Energy Bites - yummy healthy

My husband and I are hosting Thanksgiving this year for several members of my family, including parents, two married sisters and four nephews, and my youngest brother and sister. Our house will be full, and it’s up to me to make sure that it’s also clean and ready for such a crowd.

Apple Cinnamon Energy Bites - yummy healthy

Which means I’m busy. We have been cleaning and organizing a bit here and a bit there, and as the big day gets closer, our efforts get a tiny bit more frantic intense. I’m currently sitting among a huge, messy pile of books and papers from the desk we had to move yesterday to make room for a folding table. My focus today will be figuring out where to put all this stuff, and catching up on all the dishes and laundry that have been building up while our efforts have been focused elsewhere. Plus fitting in some school work, maybe cleaning a bathroom or working on the kids’ rooms…

I’m busy. And all I really want to do is curl up on the couch with a book.

Apple Cinnamon Energy Bites - yummy healthy

Apple Cinnamon Energy Bites
Makes about 15 bites
1 cup cashews
1 cup walnuts
1 cup dates
2/3 cup dried apples
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp allspice
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp maple flavor
Water as needed

Combine all ingredients except water in food processor. Pulse for a couple minutes until mixture begins to clump together. If needed, drizzle in a small amount of water to help mixture hold together.

Roll mixture, about 2 tbsp at a time, into balls. Store energy bites in the fridge.

Apple Cinnamon Energy Bites - yummy healthy

One thought on “Apple Cinnamon Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

