Skillet Veggie Pizza

Skillet Veggie Pizza - yummy healthy

Who remembers personal pan pizzas at Pizza Hut? My elementary school used to do the Book-It program, so every time I met my reading goal (and I have always been an avid reader), I got to get my very own little pizza, all to myself. I always chose olives as my topping.

Whenever someone asked my favorite pizza toppings, I would always say Canadian bacon and olives. I love a variety of toppings and combinations, but those two ingredients in particular were magical to me.

Skillet Veggie Pizza - yummy healthy

Now that we are eating mostly plant-based, mostly whole food, Canadian bacon isn’t really on the menu anymore. But with some adjustments, pizza still can be.

This pizza is made using whole wheat in the crust, and replaces the Canadian bacon with a variety of vegetables. And of course, I kept the olives!

Skillet Veggie Pizza - yummy healthy

I love the fact that, with this technique, I can make pizza on the stove top, because the oven is still broken and the toaster oven simply doesn’t have the capacity to bake enough pizza for six people.

Skillet Veggie Pizza - yummy healthy

Skillet Veggie Pizza
Makes 2 ten-inch pizzas
Crust:
2 1/2 tsp yeast
1 1/4 cup warm water
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
2 cups whole wheat flour
1-2 cups all-purpose flour

Sauce:
1 8-oz can tomato sauce
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1 tsp Italian seasoning
Salt and pepper to taste

Toppings:
1 tomato
1/2 zucchini
1/2 can olives
1 6.5-oz jar artichoke hearts
2-3 large handfuls baby spinach
1-2 cups mozzarella cheese*

Slice tomato, zucchini, and olives. Lay slices of tomato and zucchini in a single layer on paper towels, sprinkle with salt, and set aside. This will draw the excess moisture out of the vegetables and prevent the pizzas from getting soggy.

Grease two 10-inch skillets (I actually don’t have any 10-inch skillets – I used a 12-inch and a 9-inch). Combine yeast, water, oil, salt, wheat flour, and enough white flour to make a soft dough. Knead the dough until smooth. Divide dough into two equal pieces. Spread dough into greased skillets, pressing onto bottom and a little up the sides.

Cook for 7 minutes over medium-low heat with lid ajar.

While crusts are cooking, combine sauce ingredients, drain artichoke hearts, and blot excess liquid from tomato and zucchini slices with paper towels.

Remove lids from crusts. Divide sauce, cheese, olives, artichoke hearts, tomato, zucchini, and spinach evenly between the two pizzas. Cook for 15 minutes with lid ajar. Remove lids and cook additional 7 minutes.

Loosen crusts from pans and slide pizzas out onto plates or serving dishes. Slice and serve.

Skillet Veggie Pizza - yummy healthy

*We do still eat some animal products, such as eggs and dairy. If you prefer to make this pizza dairy-free, eliminate the cheese altogether, or replace with a dairy-free alternative. I have not yet tried this recipe, but it looks really good.

Skillet Veggie Pizza - yummy healthy

Leave a comment